Update, and Me Being Clever

Hey all, long time no see! A lot has happened in the last month or so (not really, I’ve mostly been lazy) and thus I haven’t been writing. Most recently, two things happened. 1) my Fiance moved in, and 2) I took in my parents’ cat for a week while they were away. I’ve been wanting a fur baby for a while, and it was nice to confirm that I am a relatively sane human being who could handle one as docile as Squeakers is.

I did learn something interesting between finding places for the Affianced’s stuff and scootching around the litter box in my bathroom – I’m losing weight. Well, the weight loss won’t be confirmed or denied until I step on the scale in the morning, but both my boss and my Significant Other mentioned to me today that it looks like I’ve lost weight. Yay! But… I haven’t been working out.

That’s when I realized that, although I haven’t been making a concentrated effort to work out or to make my Fit Bit step goal, I have been exercising and being more active. Vacuuming the whole house makes me sweaty every time, and the whole place is half the floor space of my parents’. We also did laundry because we finally got a washer and drier (another yay!) which resulted in both the Significant Other and I washing out the disgusting, chewing-tobacco-spit-encrusted clothing/drainage sink next to them. I have also moved my potted plant garden around a couple times, swam and walked enough to burn over 800 calories at parties the weekend before the 4th of July, and played Pokemon Go.

Not to mention I rearranged my entire library and added some of the Significant Other’s books to my own – not a small feat. And hoofing it through Wal-Mart  while looking for a fly swatter was a surprisingly good workout as well. I realized that there are a lot of things to do that are great exercise without having to actually exercise, and most of them seem to involve putting things in order.

So, yeah… I’ve been very active. I haven’t been counting my calories much, either. Since I’ve been trying to eat real food in balanced proportions at almost every meal, and not letting myself feel hunger long enough to let my blood sugar drop, I’ve also been eating healthier. I can still eat half a bag of Flamin’ Cheetos like I did tonight, but overall I’ve been getting most of my vitamins and minerals from food instead of a pill.

It all kind of clicked when I watched a video on Fitness Blender. As I’ve mentioned before, I love Fitness Blender workouts and I really like the ideology that Kelli and Daniel purport. Then Kelli took to digital film the story about her eating disorders and how she has managed to move past them. It’s a pretty emotional story, and one that she didn’t share lightly, but it resonated very strongly with me despite the fact that I don’t have an eating disorder. It made me want to do as well for myself as she has.

So, today I dusted and tomorrow I’m going to vacuum, and tonight I’m pulling out some chicken to cook with bell peppers and onions tomorrow. I think this is something I can do for the rest of my life.

What are some things that have gotten you to make changes for the better in your life? I’d like to have that little extra inspiration in mine.

 

Leave a Reply

