Quiet Time

I’d like to take a minute to talk about the importance of taking a minute. Yesterday I came home from a ten day long dog sitting job that had left me exhausted. One of the dogs, a year-old rottweiler puppy, is the reason why I’m particularly tired because, being a product of her breeding, she had tons of energy. Stacking that on top of working my two jobs, exciting things happening in one of those jobs, and we’re coming down to zero-hour on the wedding, it doesn’t surprise me that I got so tired. I was, as they say, burning the candle at both ends.

Partly because of my business, and partly because of the enthusiastic puppy dog, I didn’t get my quiet time before bed. It is so bad that one of my friends who gives massages told me that my deep tissues are messed up after asking me if I get headaches (not in those words, but the same meaning). Being an introvert, having a lot of time to myself helps me to recharge, unwind, and sort myself out so I’m ready to do what I need the next day. I’m a firm believer that a little quiet time is very important.

Now, those of you who are extroverts are probably saying, “But I can’t sit there and do nothing!” Well, neither can I, lol. I read, goof off online, listen to music and pace, exercise, play video games… I’m never lonely when I’m alone. I’m not very good at meditating so I don’t do it, but I know some people who swear by it, including the author of The Meditation Bible. But here’s how I see it: we can’t be on all the time. If we don’t figure out how to manage our stress, we become more prone to flashes of anger and depression, have less and lower quality sleep, and become more prone to panic attacks.

Also, to completely steal an old adage, you can’t give to others without first giving to yourself. So, try making a little time – and you will have to make it if your week is going anything like mine did – to do something fun for yourself. I firmly believe that you are worth it, and the only person who can make things better for yourself is you. After all, the same goes for me, too.

Leave a Reply

